GSoC (Week 5)

Mentee Name: Anmol

Mentors: Jan-Simon Möller and Marco Solieri

Gist about advancements in this week:

This week I researched about the virtio-block integrations and also learned how I can take inspiration from already implemented ones. I looked at some of the implementations and these include spdk and acrn, and I learned many things from them, although I need to deep dive more into the remaining commits, and link to them are Link for ACRN, Link for dpdk.

Some of the implementations are already present in the queues/jailhouse branch in the git.kiszka.org, and some detailed information is present in the inter-cell-communication. But everything which is written thhere it is not directly implementable in the jailhouse-images.

So as I am working with the jailhouse-images, there are some things I need to do before testing the virtio_ivshmem_block, because I can not directly try this driver with already upstream kernel in available with jailhouse-images, because it’s default branch is master, which has kernel version 5.10.x, and this particular driver code is available in the queues/jailhouse, so I need to first modify the kernel recipe files, and then maybe I will be able to spin it. This whole procedure for spinning and testing the driver would be the first step and then after its testing results and analysis, I will start working on the RTOS one.

Also, for the QEmulation for the problem, I was facing for some week, now I have sent the mail regarding this in the jailhouse mailing list, and you can see it here.

Thanks for reading.

– Anmol