GSoC (Final Report AGL)

Google Summer of Code 2021 Final Work Submission Report

Name: Anmol

Organisation: The Linux Foundation

Sub-Organisation: Automotive Grade Linux (AGL)

Project: VirtIO-blk implementation with AGL on Jailhouse

Mentors: Jan-Simon Möller and Marco Solieri

This is the final report for my project VirtIO-blk implementation with AGL on Jailhouse in the Google Summer of Code 2021 under Automotive Grade Linux(The Linux Foundation).

Project Deliverables

Community Bonding

The community bonding period started on May 17, 2021, and my mentors and I started to work on the initials of the project such as its feasibility, missing parts, expected problems e.t.c and also discussed via zoom calls regarding the same. Over the weeks we discussed everything on either zoom call or via Signal. In the whole duration I attended two categories of meetings one is AGL-Weekly-Developer-Call and another is AGL-Virtualization-Experts-Group-Meetings, In the weekly developer meet I generally present what work I have completed over the week, and in the Virt-EG meeting I generally ask my doubts about the virtio-layer and discuss the progress of my project. Overall I would say that the weekly meets and interaction with the developers and community was the best part of this whole GSoC journey.

Weekly Updates

Over the whole GSoC period I have documented all my progress through the weekly progress reports:

Commits / Change Requests

Future Work

Challenges

Learnings

Acknowledgements

I would like to thank my mentors Jan-Simon Möller and Marco Solieri for their continued assistance and support during the past weeks. This project certainly wouldn’t have been possible without their valuable suggestions and the knowledge they shared. I’d also like to thank AGL-Developer community members.

It has been an amazing journey and I look forward to contributing to Automotive Grade Linux in the future.